Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Raspberry Jam
So I went a bit off the deep end on this one just for fun. It's crazy saturated - something like 10 lumps of iron over various stems/mixbus paths in addition to slapping the J37 emulation (waves) on the master. Everything through hardware that enjoys being loaded up a bit as well. I wanted to soak this mix.

Although freq response looks nice and balanced on the "scope", I think I'm enjoying the bass a bit too much on this one (to my ears). Oh well - I'm a bassist.

I know some folks won't like the reverb treatment, but I wanted to put the group in a "small hall" for a certain ambience vibe I was feeling. It's fun to experiment.

Hope at least some enjoy it (or hate it!)...

.mp3    RJ Master CD MP3.mp3 --  (Download: 6.33 MB)

.mp3    Raspberry Jam MP3 for DZ2.mp3 --  (Download: 6.3 MB)

It's good. Everything is well stated although the cymbals are a bit crispy. Has a kind of '70s vibe to it. Panning is off balance as well. Can you explain your decisions on that?
PreSonus Studio One DAW
[email protected]
Thanks! You nailed the vibe I was going for...along with a weird "live'ish yet mixed in the studio" idea in my head. I think that was why I left the cymbals as "alive" as they are in the mix. I agree, that's the one piece (crispiness) that does niggle me still - so I'll probably post up a different mix either today or tomorrow.

Panning - ha! The Rhodes is being slammed (but not too hard) through a Kush Fatso (and its lovely transformers). I was not really rigorous on the levels, and as I dialed the mix in, the right channel is just a touch more "there" (which pulls the Rhodes a bit to the right). Interestingly, I had cloned the guitar track and panned mid L/R with those (and a bit different EQ/treatment for each track), and the result pulled the guitar just slightly to the left. I wound up liking the way it all sat - and it worked great in mono - so I rolled with it.