Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Digital Only Logic Proz 2 Bare Haggis
So, being a live engineer by trade should have made this an easy mix, but it was quite hard translating this old girl to a studio session. So as always, kept it simple and only let the crowd in a smidge.

No outboard. Minimal 3rd parties. Straight up mixing.

Actually did this mix a couple weeks ago but forgot to upload it whoopsie daisies.

.mp3    2 Bare Hands.mp3 --  (Download: 7.56 MB)

~
Other Mixes
Good emulation of the existing room however I think a lot of the details are getting washed out unnecessarily. Not sure why you did not want the character from the chamber/audience side of this to come through. I thought it added a good deal of location to things. Over all this sounds pretty good. I think the keyboard is not sitting well against the rest of the ensemble. As you said, this should have been a simple get. It was anything but!
PreSonus Studio One DAW
[email protected]
(20-04-2019, 05:07 PM)Mixinthecloud Wrote: Good emulation of the existing room however I think a lot of the details are getting washed out unnecessarily. Not sure why you did not want the character from the chamber/audience side of this to come through. I thought it added a good deal of location to things. Over all this sounds pretty good. I think the keyboard is not sitting well against the rest of the ensemble. As you said, this should have been a simple get. It was anything but!

Yeah, I completely agree with all of your comments. Live is always hard to turn into a usable recording because of the noise bleed. I suppose thats why so many live albums are mostly re-recorded in studio and put through ADR. I've been lucky enough to have done FOH/live recording for a good many bands, and in almost every instance the only things kept were the drums and the audience. That been said, this is a good recording but its still pretty tricky to get to a happy place. And I definitely wasn't happy with this mix, but whatever.