Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 3 Average
Jesper Buhl Trio - First full mix
Hi, what a cool site/community here. Looking forward to practicing mixing with as many of these tracks as I have time for.

I'm a musician and have done basic stereo recordings before but never had an opportunity to mix so this is a treat.

I spent the better part of the day tweaking things and I'm happy with this one for now. I found the upright bass and snare to be the most difficult to shape the way I wanted. The drums are still a little thin for my liking but as long as the rhythm is present I prefer to hear more bass than toms/bass drum. At least for today.

Would love to hear what others think.

Thanks!

Version 2: More narrow piano, little more bottom to the bass and less of the slaps.

Version 3: Bill Evan's recording inspired panning. Bass halfway left, Piano (no longer narrow) halfway right.

.m4a    Jesper Buhl Trio jawrmusic final mix.m4a --  (Download: 14.33 MB)

.m4a    Jesper Buhl Trio jawrmusic final mix 2.m4a --  (Download: 14.33 MB)

.m4a    Jesper Buhl Trio jawrmusic final mix 3.m4a --  (Download: 14.33 MB)

Well, those drums sound pretty neat to me, with a natural and vintagish feel, thou the wide stereo gives them a modern sound. Definitely the better part of the mix.