Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Siren 1st post
Hello there,

This is my first post on this wonderful site and forum.

This is my mix of this lush song, it is the first none metal track I have attempted and my 4th overall mix ever (I'm a noob). This must have been expertly recorded as the files just slotted in perfectly and, although I was enjoying the music, wondered what actually needed doing, my inexperience perhaps? I basically tried a few things for the first time I have read about, such as parallel compression and edited a few things here and there. I also adapted some of the thing I learned mixing metal tracks at home but also resisted the temptation to re-amp the guitars through Amplitube Metal LOL. I tried to make it sound like I would want this wonderful song to sound like however, I may in future do a mix without the synths, as fantastic as they are! I am most proud of leaving the reverb off one track of the whispered vocals, so that it is though she is whispering in your ear! I also tried to do a spot of mastering too and I think I have learned a lot doing mixing this. Thanks for the chance to do this, I enjoyed it.

.mp3    Georgia wonder - Siren (done and Mastered).mp3 --  (Download: 16.54 MB)

Glad you're enjoying the learning process -- I still am, certainly! Smile On to some comments...

You've got a rather abrasive build-up around 4kHz, and another around 9-10kHz, which combine to make this rather a tiring listen. I wonder whether your monitoring might be the cause of this overall tonal bias, so maybe check that out by referencing this mix against some others -- or indeed the preview mix provided with this multitrack, which is smoother in this respect at least.