Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Mix by Zbat (me)
Hi all,

First time posting here Big Grin I'm a originally a musician but want to become a producer so learning everything from song writing to recording and mixing.

I've been learning how to mix for about 6 months now. I mainly use Logic Pro which I love as I use my midi piano a lot, program drums, keyboards etc.

I liked this song because there's a bit of a Jamiroquai vibe at the beginning and tons of options given there's so many mics / tracks. So had a blast!

I have attached my version of the mix, I would love to know what you think and what I can do to improve in the future!

Some stuff about my mix: I am not a massive fan of the backing vocals during the chorus and even with the reference mix I struggled a lot on how they would bring something to the song, I tried putting them behind with reverb but it sounded a bit muddy and the chorus had less impact, so I "kind of" tried to have a bit of a "boxy" sound like question / answer from the lead vocal and the other one. I did not push it that far but think kind of the new metal vibe where you would have a sentence or a scream with a "phone" voice.

Other thing, very difficult to get anything out of the kick, not sure if it's a gain issue while the drums were tracked but even with the EQ it felt either too round / muddy or very smacky (is that a word) almost / sometimes clipping, so I "cheated" and added a sample behind to get a heavy bottom (electro bump GP in Logic FYI) sound behind and use the attack from the mic, compressed to get consistent hits and some more attack.

! I'd be super curious to know if other people struggled with the kick and if they managed to get a good sound out of the tracks and how they achieved it?