Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Jesper jazz trio mix
This my mix for this jazz trio

It's my first time mixing jazz so any comments would be usefull
I did not use any gate I gated manually with automation and there is almost no compression

Enjoy

.m4a    Jesper trio.m4a --  (Download: 12.18 MB)

(21-09-2013, 11:47 AM)Sebguitarist Wrote: It's my first time mixing jazz so any comments would be usefull
I did not use any gate I gated manually with automation

Gated? How come? Not the kind of style I'd expect any gating on at all.
(21-09-2013, 07:24 PM)Mike Senior Wrote:
(21-09-2013, 11:47 AM)Sebguitarist Wrote: It's my first time mixing jazz so any comments would be usefull
I did not use any gate I gated manually with automation

Gated? How come? Not the kind of style I'd expect any gating on at all.

sorry i expressed my self wrong. what i meant is that I used automation to keep a good Volume without peaking because I did not want to put limiter or dynamics of this kind
(21-09-2013, 10:25 PM)Sebguitarist Wrote: sorry i expressed my self wrong. what i meant is that I used automation to keep a good Volume without peaking because I did not want to put limiter or dynamics of this kind

Oh, cool -- that makes more sense! Smile
I think you did a good job mixin this. My only suggestion would be the pannin, its confusin when the drummer palys a certain ride cymbal its very far from the rest o the kit - could be the piano mics bleed ? Oh and the drum solo is stereo, I think I get your idea, you are fadin things up and down, and that way sometimes create a diffrent stero image. I would suggest a more static mix, the music speaks well for itself, and fades like this take focus from it. Just my 5 cents. Great sound !
Old ears, old gear, little boy inside love music and sounds and my wife, not necessarily in that order
Now I had a go at it myself I suggest you look into narrowing both the OH mics and the piano, that did the trick for me Big Grin