Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 4 Average
#19 Blue - Sweet and Smokey (and the Bandit)
Classy act and a joy to mix. This is my first try on anything relatively close to jazz and, ironically, that means a modern, overdubbed DAW creation with lots of MIDI parts. Very well programmed drums (too busy, though) and bass was pretty neat, too; I had heard about Trillian before but this was beyond my expectations.

I'm fearing bass may be too boomy and resonant on some notes, especially for a panned part, I'm pretty careful with that most times but this one slipped me by.

Does somebody know where these drums come from? I’d say BFD, because of those 3 stereo tracks (OH, Room and Ambience, if I remember correctly).
(Forget it, I just found there's a thread by the author, pretty nice of him to give out his secrets... so it's SUPERIOR DRUMMER, and a Variax guitar plugged in a Kemper, so it hardly can be more "virtual"!)

.mp3    19 - Ghostly Beard - Blue (Deliza).mp3 --  (Download: 10.26 MB)

Quite a magical listening experience, Deliza. Very creative and tasteful use of space. Bass was a little off putting at the start but I soon warmed to it's placement. The drums for me however, sounded somewhat confused and a little all over the place. (listening with headphones) I think I would have liked a little more grounding here, if that makes sense. That being said, great work on a great mix! I'm always eager to listen to the work you present here. You have an ability to reinvent the music you mix. Well done
Wow, that's Beast Level encouragement, Dave! I thought that this was that rare tune where you can pan bass and see what happens (I wouldn't be doing that on a dance track).