Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Dark Ride - Hammer Down practice mix 2
Hi everyone -

Attached is my second try at mixing this great tune. (The first wasn't very good so I took it down.) Blitzzz, many thanks again for allowing us to practice our mixing on your song. So, as a newbie, I'd welcome your thoughts on how to improve the song. I didn't try to duplicate the original but instead decided to mix an interpretation.

The song was mixed on headphones w/Sonarworks Reference 4 on Harrison Mixbus v5. It's a static mix with panning and audio levels adjusted to try to place the instruments in their sound field in a way that would complement the song in lieu of automation. Drums are mixed from audience perspective (snare and slightly hat stage left), with bass slightly stage right and all guitars stage right except for the solo passages (which are centered). Synths are predominantly stage left. Minimal eq was applied and there is compression, limiting and subtle verb throughout. Guitar solo also has delay added.

Hope you enjoy it and all suggestions/criticisms are welcome. Many thanks in advance!

ONITB

Edit 10/1/2018: here's a new mix of "Hammer Down". Took a more modern approach with this one. Guitars panned left and right with solo passages centered. Synths still predominantly stage left with a ping pong delay. Bass still slightly stage right. Vox have both delay and reverb on them. Looking forward to your comments/criticisms. Enjoy!

10/12/2018: Added new rev "20181012_session". Did some pseudo M/S processing with a slight boost @2.3KHz, increased volume of overheads and kick. Hope you like it. Let me know your thoughts/comments. Have a great weekend all.

Cheers!
ONITB

10/13/2018: Added new rev "20181013 r1_session

1. Added more bottom end
2. Changed some of the reverbs
a. Changed the vox verb to a longer 224x hall
b. Changed the wet/dry mix on one of the other verbs
3. Decided to remove the delay at the intro as recommended.