Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
CR Mix
Hello this is my mix, it has no master, so it is possible that you have to move up the fader to listen to it.

I appreciate the comments and if someone is encouraged to do a master.

.mp3    Pray For The Rain.mp3 --  (Download: 13.24 MB)

Very nice work, sir!
I find the toms are slightly poking out, lots of low end. I like the kick and snare. Nice bass sound.
The vocal reverb/delays maybe is a bit loud, or a bit too invading on the highs, I'd try some eq to sweeten it. The overdriven guitars feel a bit too mono IMO.
Keys are sitting very nicely.
The guitar solo section does not convince me, the song has a crescendo before that, but when the solo starts it feels like some energy went away.

Would love to get your opinion on my new mix as well.
cheers
Hi Carlos,

Very enjoyable listen! Really nice tones and balance.

Since you asked (and I was encouragedSmile, I did some mastering for you. I'm no mastering engineer and have a hard enough time just mixing.

The things I noticed mostly (to my ears) was some excessive thump in the kick and toms and just a couple of other frequencies that seemed to resonate most noticeably when bringing the volume up, but nothing major at all. The hihats got a little weird, but it might be due to mastering an mp3...to mp3 Smile

I did 2 versions and the only difference between them is how I dealt with the thump. The 1st version, I used a Pultec vst to clean it up statically. The 2nd version, I used a mix of Pultec and dynamic eq which seemed a little less intrusive but I had to be careful or the lows would start dancing around.

Mike

Edit: Added a third version with more glue, I think, and more volume.

.mp3    Pray For The Rain-CR Mix-TNS Mastered.mp3 --  (Download: 13.07 MB)

.mp3    Pray For The Rain-CR Mix-TNS Mastered 2.mp3 --  (Download: 13.07 MB)

.mp3    Pray For The Rain-CR Mix-TNS Mastered 3.mp3 --  (Download: 13.07 MB)