Thread Rating:
  • 3 Vote(s) - 3.33 Average
The Black Crown: 'Flames' (first mix) - feedback wanted
Hi there,

Please have a listen to my first mix of this awesome song and let me know what you think. I'm fairly new to mixing and would appreciate any feedback people are willing to give me.
I would especially appreciate any constructive feedback - its fine telling me somethings not right but some guidance on how to possible fix it would be a great help to me if you could spare the time.

Cheers guys,

Rick

.mp3    The Black Crown - Flames.mp3 --  (Download: 12.76 MB)

One thing I am hearing is the toms are a bit too loud, and maybe the snare is a tad to low. During the tom+snare fills it sounds like the toms are causing your mix compressor/limiter to pump really hard, and you can hear the snare start to get lost in the mix.

The vocals are sounding a bit muffled too, I would maybe eq out some of the boominess (somewhere is the 200-400hz range) there and adjust the volume as necessary.

I can also hear some string chatter during some parts on the bass guitar, I would low pass somewhere around 4-6k to get rid of that, and boost in the 1-2k range to compensate, if necessary. I would also bring up the guitar solo up a in volume (the part that starts after the second chorus) to give the song more energy in that section.

Otherwise I think you did really good for a first mix! Much better than my first.
Hi there - thank you so much for taking the time to listen and to provide feedback! Really appreciate the comments and especially the problem ares and frequencies to tweak.
I have taken this on board and tweaked a couple of other bits that were annoying me and have given it another shot. Feel free to listen, and as always, feedback is most welcome!!

.mp3    The Black Crown - Flames (Mix 2).mp3 --  (Download: 12.5 MB)

Hi Rick,