Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Who I am. My mix
Wow, this mix really progressed well. Nice job!
To mix or not to mix ... mix!
thank you guys!!!!
(31-05-2013, 08:09 PM)juanjose1967 Wrote: My first mix of a country song. I was glad I found this song because I just love it. You know, a country song for a Spaniard like me is something quite exotic...

Anyway, for the first time I can hear all the instruments I've been trying to mix and most of them have an acceptable sound in my opinion (you might laugh about it but keep in mind that I've been mixing for only 5 months).

But, the best way to improve it is by learning your own mistakes, so I'm more than ready to hear your opinions and critics.

Thank you!

OK. This is interesting.

This mix, IMHO, requires what us screenwriters like to call a "page one rewrite." In other words, there's too much stuff that needs fixing for individual suggestions to help; you need to start over from scratch.

That being said, however, I was impressed with the relative clarity of the mix. To my ears, this sounds like a mix done by a talented mix engineer who was simply unfamiliar with the musical style he was working with. This makes sense given your own comment about how "exotic" country music sounds to your Spanish ears. Wink

So I suspect you have the talent necessary to do a really fine mix of this material; I recommend only that you alter your approach. Here's what I'd do:

First, listen to the drum overheads, try to determine where each drum is in the stereo image, then pan the positions of each of the close mics as close as you can get them to those positions; that should give you a good stereo balance on the drums.