Thread Rating:
  • 4 Vote(s) - 3 Average
Extremophile's Mix
Hi, I am a novice musician/sound engineer and this is my first attempt at mixing such a copmlex and dynamic metal song. I really found coping with the bleeding drum pretty challenging and I did my best with the whole song with what I have...... Just some stock plugins and free vsts.

Please tell me what you think about the mix! There must be plenty that can be improved but please go easy on the technical bits since I'm just starting off - don't mind being too harsh though, an explicit comment is always helpful.

Thanks!

Extremophile

.mp3    mix test 4 256kbps.mp3 --  (Download: 7.28 MB)

You got ears, that's for sure.
That's pretty good for a beginner !

The best advices I can give you for now are :
-Keep on practicing because you're starting the right way. My first mixes were absolute junk compared to this xD
-Do compare, as much as possible, your mix with a reference, or any band that has a sound you love and can suit the project. In order to clearly get what your mix needs to be improved (The hard part is to think of a solution to reach the goal, once you got one :p)
-About reverbs and delay, unless it absolutely is an artistic choice, be gentle on their use. Always soft, especially in this kind of music. The way I see it is like "you can't hear it, but feels like something is missing when you mute it".

So, you used only recorded track ? No vst amp guitars on DI nor vst midi drums, right ?
Sound Engineer @ MegamocheProd
Working on Cubase 9.5 Pro
Gear : Yamaha HS-7 // Sennheiser HD-25 // BeyerDynamics MMX-300 // Steinberg UR22 MKII
(06-01-2018, 10:06 PM)jugx Wrote: You got ears, that's for sure.
That's pretty good for a beginner !

The best advices I can give you for now are :
-Keep on practicing because you're starting the right way. My first mixes were absolute junk compared to this xD