Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
First-time post - Kings And Queens mix
Hi All,

Newbie here, so please let me know if my levels are where they should be.

As regards this rather, err.., idiosyncratic song, I really enjoyed the challenge. Love the singer's voice and the slightly impenetrable lyrics, but some of the recording, engineering and production decisions were pretty baffling, not the least of which was the abrupt ending, which sounds as though someone flipped the breaker! Maybe that was the point. Any and all comments gratefully received. Happy New Year to all.

.mp3    Kings And Queens.mp3 --  (Download: 8.88 MB)

Nice job .. vocals sounded great on my monitors, nice fix on the ending. yeah i think someone chopped a few tracks short..lol only thing that really stood out was the lead guitar at the end, just pull it back a little. good job, keep up the good work

cheers
K
Gear:-Zoom R24 interface, controller - Cubase/Reaper - Assorted Waves, Airwindows suite, AKG K240 Cans, Event TR5 reference monitors.
(02-01-2018, 03:17 AM)KMuzic Wrote: Nice job .. vocals sounded great on my monitors, nice fix on the ending. yeah i think someone chopped a few tracks short..lol only thing that really stood out was the lead guitar at the end, just pull it back a little. good job, keep up the good work

cheers
K

Thanks - much appreciated. Yes, I liked the vocal 'space', but I see what you mean about the guitar at the end. Poking its head a little too far out, and the synth behind it is also a bit distracting.
Nice work SDM,
Balance is good, instruments has their right place. Yeap, nice work Smile
I like it! To my ears there are some phase issues with the two rhythm guitars tracks throughout the song. Nudging one track around some milliseconds should help to make this mix even better Smile