Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
my mix....
This is my first time with a mix on a song I didn't create and it is very interesting. I tried to do the mix before hearing the others and after listening to a few I have some new ideas but this one is the one I did out of the gate. Here was my thought process:

This song felt like an easy going song so I wanted to keep it a bit on the soft side and I avoided pushing the levels. There were some good things and some bad things about the given tracks. I saw the notes too late. I really liked the vocals and thought they were pretty "honest" so I tried to keep the character. on the main line I boosted around 2k, did a very slight doubling and a little delay and obviously some compression but not too much. For the rap, all I did was compress and high pass filter. Dry as a bone right down the middle made it stand out. The backup vocals were pretty good except for the crackling. I turned them down and panned them to various positions and that was it. They are low enough that I can not hear any crackling in my headphones in the mix.