Thread Rating:
  • 3 Vote(s) - 2.33 Average
Sea Of Leaves - Mix (first mix with "real" instruments)
This is my first try at mixing recorded real instruments and vocals. I had quite a hard time working on the drums and vocals. I am now quite satisfied with the outcome but would appreciate any hints and tips for improvement.

This was done in Harisson Mixbus 32C on Linux, if that matters.

.mp3    JokersJacksKings_SeaOfLeaves_Mix_lentferj.mp3 --  (Download: 5.88 MB)

Hi - Wow, big guitars in your mix... A few balance issues though:

The bass and drums are very much being overpowered by the vocals and guitars. Try doing the "whisper test" on your mix - Turn down your monitors to just above the noise floor of your environment, and notice what stays audible as you turn the mix down to nothing. I think you'll find, at that point, all you'll hear is the vocals, the guitars, the kick drum, and a tiny "tick" from the snare.

The bass simply needs more volume, but the drums are suffering from the compression release time being too slow, causing only the transient and none of the sustain of the drums to come through. Try experimenting with the release times on the drum, and maybe speed up the attack a little bit too. There is a point where you get a nice snap, but it is balanced with the full-bodied sustain of the drum coming through as well, giving the drums more 'size' in the mix.

The vocal is being pushed back into the soundstage behind the other instruments by the reverb. Try adjusting the pre-delay on your reverb to anything from about 80-120ms and notice how it brings the vocal forward, yet still gives a sense of space.

Hope that helps!
All 10 FytaKyte Multi-Tracks available for you to mix with purchase of Album here: https://fytakyte.bandcamp.com/releases