Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
My first mix
Hello ! this is my first post! I am a beginner, it's just less than 4 months that i started to experiment with mixes. Surely this isn't the best mix you are going to listen here Big Grin but i hope to receive any suggestions.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Edit: i uploaded a new version (v2) i hope it is improved

.mp3    Suit You.mp3 --  (Download: 10.36 MB)

.mp3    Suit You 2.mp3 --  (Download: 8.52 MB)

Hi,
for me doesn't sound so bad! But...
Do you use a time stretch? because it seems slower than the original track Big Grin
Importing your mix in my DAW I notice that you put a limiter or with a ceiling at -2db, comercial tracks are usually set between -0.1db and -0.5db, say that, talking about dynamic range, maybe your track sounds too louder, I get -6 LUFS.

Cheers
Rob

That's really not too a bad a start at all for a beginner. Just before you start developing some bad habits, may I suggest not driving the mix buss too hard and then slamming a 'maximizer' on the output buss to compound the problem? The maximiser will indeed get you 'loudness' - but it will also add unwanted granularity / grit / distortion to your mix and make it sound 'brittle'. It's the cumulative effect of smaller [subtle] mix decisions that will make the biggest differences as the various signals find their way though the mix buss to the master buss input. Try to get the mix as clear and dynamic as possible before putting anything on the master buss. I've a hunch that what's 'on' the master buss is the main issue here. I wouldn't be too concerned about arriving at defined broadcast loudness level standards at the moment; just start at the start and get the clarity and dynamics worked out first and you'll be well on your way to better sounding mixes. Hope this helps a bit.
Hi, welcome to the forum and congrats on your first mix!