Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Perpetual Escape - Into My Dreams
Hello!

This is my first try on this epic (and also huge by all aspects) track!
I have to admit it was one of the most difficult mixes I have ever done and gave me a whole new respect on people who actually work with this genre.
I hope you like it,and as always I'm open to any kind of comments and suggestions!

Final Mix for Competition Entry!

Cheers,
Simon.

.mp3    Perpetual escape Into my dreams final competition mix.mp3 --  (Download: 32.09 MB)

Hi Simon,

Epic Indeed!!!

To my ears, this is a competent mix. I like the way you have handled the sonics and emotion from start to finish. Great play with the synths!

Just a couple of things jumped out at me whist listening. I think the first vocal passage could be a little hot or maybe too up front. I wonder if a softer entry would work better. I think it would also help the build into the first vocal harmony part which as it is, for me is a little underwhelming following on. The vocal passages there on for me, work well. The only other thing I feel is to perhaps exploit the stereo field more with some creativity and crazy panning, "if you like", through some of the mysterious sonic passages that are presented here, just to make things more Epic!

Great work here. Enjoyable listeningBig Grin

Dave

Sounds very good. The kick feel very huge, maybe too huge? Some guitar tracks feel a little too strong between 2.5k and 3k. That being said, sounds very good. Hmm... Although I'm a fan of static sound, maybe you could indeed use some more FX, panning and all that stuff to make it more exciting and suprising and whatever. Still, sounds very good. ^_^
Thanks for the feedback guys!

Dave,you were spot on about the vocals on the first movement.It really needed some more automation and I did this on my third mix which is now way better!Thanks for that!