Thread Rating:
  • 2 Vote(s) - 3 Average
who's who in hell sh4d0wgh0st mix
i've been learning mixing for about 2 months now and this is my first time working with vocals, any tips, advice or comments would be really helpful Smile

.mp3    last legacy mix mp3.mp3 --  (Download: 673.58 KB)

Hi sh4d0wgh0st,
There's some beat skipping thing going on that sounds unnatural and forced. Not sure if it's on purpose or a glitch, but it's a bit distracting to me. As far as the vocals, the melodic passages sound pretty good to me. However, the raspy parts sound a bit on the weak side. Maybe a little too "clean." (I had to compress the shit out of them--to the point of distortion--and, add a touch of reverb to get them to sit right for me on my mix.) Overall though, a solid effort for only having been doing this for two months! Everything sounds well balanced on my end. I recommend trying to get your hands really dirty, and do a mix of the full version of the song.
Best regards,
Jeff
(07-03-2017, 11:52 PM)jeffssoloband Wrote: Hi sh4d0wgh0st,
There's some beat skipping thing going on that sounds unnatural and forced. Not sure if it's on purpose or a glitch, but it's a bit distracting to me. As far as the vocals, the melodic passages sound pretty good to me. However, the raspy parts sound a bit on the weak side. Maybe a little too "clean." (I had to compress the shit out of them--to the point of distortion--and, add a touch of reverb to get them to sit right for me on my mix.) Overall though, a solid effort for only having been doing this for two months! Everything sounds well balanced on my end. I recommend trying to get your hands really dirty, and do a mix of the full version of the song.
Best regards,
Jeff

thanks mate, just have the problem of a really slow computer that can't handle 30 odd tracks with plugins Smile will defiantly try a lot more different techniques with the vocals