Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Roots Of Mankind - Olli H
There were so many small details in those tracks that I'm sure that I've missed quite many of them in my first version.

The moment I hear double tracked distorted guitars on sides, I know I'm on the weak ice. As I have no real user experience of this genre, I just followed my intuition, which quite often leads me to wrong paths.

EDIT: Latest version in post #10

.mp3    roots-of-mankind-2016-12-05-olli-h.mp3 --  (Download: 13.59 MB)

It feels pretty good. I'm sure there are a number of little details that can be focused and worked on but as a whole it sits well.
There are some vocals that really poke out and feel loud. Particularly the double tracked male vocals. I forget what they're called. In the 1st verse the toms have an dominant tone that could be cut back.

Overall it works. Right now it feels pretty "grunge". Certainly not a bad thing but maybe lighter than the band would aim for. Sure, it could be taken up a notch but as it is there's not too much to complain about tonally. Good intuition.
HI

Great energy here.

*there is a guitar noise at 0:33
*The guitar tones in my opinion sound a bit harsh. they have too much air. Though they sound great when palm mute playing.. perhaps automating their eq when they play all out vs palm mute. I believe this is a reason for why fret noise is very prominent. ( 1:46 )
*just follow the light phrase seats good here.. way better than mine anyways Smile
*at 3:22 that boost in volume on those guitars is a bit too much in my opinion.. they made the drums sound very small. also a bit harsh for my ears.. feel free to ignore though this is more of a taste thing.
*Toms have a a small conflict with bass on the lower freq. It causes this build in the back.
*Vocals are well leveled imo but I would love more reverb and a bit of delay there so they don't sound too dry.

Overall very good energetic mix Olli. Even if it's not you genre you made it sound very nice.