Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Diesel13 - Colour Me Red
I just love this song!

Sorry.....I guess I should provide more helpful comments....!

I'm still a newbie at mixing - I have been doing it for about a year now, but on and off. I used to be a roadie, and I play instruments, so I consider myself relatively musical. Mixing and producing was a bit of an obsession of mine when I was a kid, but it never panned out, but it still fascinates me. So anyway, here's my mix (and I hope it is allowable to post more than 1, because I have tweaked it a bit to remove the glaringly obvious error, so I have added the 2nd (well, third, but that's between me and my wife!!).

As a newbie, things I struggled with were :
1. The drums. I bought Waves 'InPhase' back in the days when I was inexperienced enough to think I could buy an instant mix-fix in a plugin...! and as you can hear, I still haven't mastered it. The snare sounds a bit wrong, unless you 'squint with your ears' (and I claim copyright on that expression!) and then you can sort of imagine it's a rattly-chain snare....but not really.
2. So many vocal tracks! aaarrggh! - what to do with them! Just Pan and Wave, boys, pan and wave.....it nearly worked.
3. EQ The mix-that-shall-not-be-named (see previous wife comment) I thought was quite nice until my wife (the final arbiter of taste and style) told me it was 'horrible - it sounds like someone has sat on it', and that would have been so much easier to take if she had said it in a Monty Python voice, but she gave it to me dead-pan.....ouch!. So I got back to work on what was V2, but on reflection I think it has too much high frequency. The V1 mix sounded great in the car, but I haven't listened to the others yet, but I'm hoping they work.
4. Compression - to use or not to use. That is the question
5. Bigness......I can get LOUD......I can sort of sometimes get CLEAR.....but how the heck do I get BIG? Actually, there's an opening for a plugin.....