Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Burning Bridges - First Mix
UPDATE: Rev3 has been uploaded as a 256k file. It is an exact copy of Rev2 (now deleted) besides for the higher quality

Hi All,

I'd appreciate you taking a listen and giving me any feedback you can!
I am a live sound engineer who has spent the better part of a decade in the classic rock and country scene. Obviously that puts this a little out of my element, but I really liked the song. I'm transitioning into doing more and more studio related work, so I am constantly trying to keep my ears fresh.
This is my first ever metal mix, so obviously I've got a lot to learn. I welcome, and look forward to, your feedback!

Thanks!

.mp3    Burning Bridges (mp3-Post).mp3 --  (Download: 6.93 MB)

.mp3    Rev3 Burning Bridges (mp3).mp3 --  (Download: 6.81 MB)

Just some quick comments.
It sounds good but it's pretty compressed and restrained. And the vocal is buried and can come up but I think that's separate from the compression issue.
I would reduce the lower mid mudd, the vocals are buried beneath a wall of guitar Smile
(10-11-2016, 04:56 AM)RoyMatthews Wrote: Just some quick comments.
It sounds good but it's pretty compressed and restrained. And the vocal is buried and can come up but I think that's separate from the compression issue.

Thanks for the feedback! I uploaded an updated version.
(10-11-2016, 03:01 PM)Blitzzz Wrote: I would reduce the lower mid mudd, the vocals are buried beneath a wall of guitar Smile

Thanks for the feedback. I don't know what the hell I was thinking with the vocal level... It's so obvious after I've been away from it for two days. As for the low-mid muddiness, I tried to clean that up a bit too in the new Rev2 file I uploaded...
Thanks!
I hate to be annoying but the 2nd version is half the resolution of the first version so it's difficult to judge. Could you upload a higher quality version? Then it's be easier to evaluate.