Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Who I am. My mix
My first mix of a country song. I was glad I found this song because I just love it. You know, a country song for a Spaniard like me is something quite exotic...

Anyway, for the first time I can hear all the instruments I've been trying to mix and most of them have an acceptable sound in my opinion (you might laugh about it but keep in mind that I've been mixing for only 5 months).

But, the best way to improve it is by learning your own mistakes, so I'm more than ready to hear your opinions and critics.

Thank you!

.mp3    Uncle Dad _ Who I am.mp3 --  (Download: 2.87 MB)

Hi there!

Only been mixing for 5 months? Good job!

In my opinion Country is all about keeping it natural and "rural".

Your mix sound very processed, many times that´s a good thing but the thing about mixing is you have to be very versatile and understand the genre you are working in. Reference listening is the number 1 thing you have to do. Everybody does it, including the top mixers in the world.

I don´t mean to beat you down or discourage you from mixing OR posting here. Hope you take it the right way. Smile

Some "facts" about your mix:

- The vocals are too loud in comparison to the rest of the track in the verses
- A little less reverb on the vocals
- Sidestick (snare) is buried
- Ac guitar is too loud in the verses
- Some panning of the violin and banjo would make your mix wider, that goes for ac guitar too.

As I said, hope you take this the right way and I believe that you have a bright future in this business if you´ve only mixedfor 5 months. Keep em coming!

Cheers,
/Marcus
Hi jamolir!! On the contrary, all opinions encourage me to go on and learn. You've given me lots of things to pay attention to and that's exactly what I was looking for!

I'll review my mix, and I'll try to fix those mistakes.

Thank you so much!
The vocals are way too loud.
I cant listen to the rest
Ok, I've tried to improve the song: