Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Good Time, opinions please.
Hi,

First, a little background. I'm fairly new to this mixing game, I've read a couple of books and bought myself studio one 3. I'm only using stock plugins at the moment with a few freebies, more plugins to come when the budget allows. I've mixed a couple of other tracks, but this is the first one I feel quite proud of.

I'm trying to get to an 'acceptable' standard, I play drums for a rock covers band and we need a demo disc with a few tracks on it to get more gigs. But I don't want to give them rubbish as it wouldn't look particularly good on us lol.

I know the vocal in this needs a little more work, some automation here and there and maybe a little better on the EQ'ing side of things. But I just want to know if I'm heading in the right direction?

Please, be brutally honest with me, I need your input!

.mp3    Good Time(3).mp3 --  (Download: 6.76 MB)

Ed,
Welcome to the PreSonus world. Kudos on your selection of your DAW.

OK. So first impression: too much compression. Things seem to be pumping and breathing but not in a musical way. Your individual instrument sounds are fine. The overall tonal balance seems a bit skewed towards the low end with not much definition on the kick. This could just be a matter of learning your speakers and how to compensate in the mix for a wide range of playback systems. Try not to use headphones if possible for your main monitoring. Use of effects and environment creation is OK, however your kit seems less defined than it could be (unusual for a drummer/mixer). I think this is a good start for a first go-round. Again, try less compression on the over-all mix.
PreSonus Studio One DAW
[email protected]
Cheers for the feedback, Ed.

I'm loving PreSonus, the possibilities seem endless!