Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
First Post - new member - modern sounding mix
First post from the nOOb here. Just want to say this is a great site! And a wealth of info – so awesome! I've been lurking and reading for a while now, but finally made an account and thought I'd add to the glorious melodic death metal discussion if you'll let me.

This band is awesome by the way! \m/ This is the first I've heard of Cnoc An Tursa.... The ¼ Scotsman in me goes *gurgle

There are many good mixes of "Bannockburn" I've heard so far, but I haven't gotten thru all of the posts in this section so forgive me. I really like Niklas90's first mix the most because maybe I hear my own style in the tone of it?

Well, just so this post doesn't get too long, I'll make a second post to describe what I really did here (and because I love to blab about recording).... Curious to hear all your thoughts, just be gentle Tongue

.mp3    Cnoc An Tursa - Bannockburn - Logic Master 3.mp3 --  (Download: 6.72 MB)

Second post as promised \m/ I hope that this discussion forum is really for sharing a bit too much, because it's gonna be a long one so buckle up! (most everything I'll talk about is in general, because we're probably all thinking the same things here....)

I'm a manufacturing engineer by day, metal-head by night. Home studio in the basement - nothing too extensive, but a small respectable bit of gear that gets the job done. (shameless plug – ceomastering.com). I've been in the New England (USA) music scene for years, just never had the time to really focus solely on sound engineering. Being in a band was great, and afforded me the pleasure of working with some great engineers, most notable being Jeff Gilmer – producer of Torment by Staind, and FOH / live sound for Saint Asonia. I'm mostly a modern rock guy, so this was my first attempt at melodic death metal... my interpretation anyways...

Onto the song.... Bannockburn.