Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Left Blind Mixed by DCP
I started mixing this after I finished my final mix/master of Ill Fate but I was never happy with the mixes I was getting so I scrapped them all and didn't touch this track untill sometime last week. I think what was bugging me the most was my drum sounds, I did resample the drums on the previous versions of this track, however I kept finding that my ususal samples in ezdrummer didn't really cut it and the original drum tracks, while good for rock and indie and other lighter genres, didn't really suit metalcore. After experimenting for a while last week I finally got the sound I was looking for, so I printed the samples and went to work. The overheads are hipassed at 2 kHz to get rid of the rest of the kit elements save for the cymbals. The kick I ended up using was from the Ez Drummer Metal! expansion (Ring Smack Kick) and the snare and toms are from Metal Machine (Dunnett Titanium Snare and Ludwig Stainless Steel Toms). I also included the room and overhead mics from The Classic Ez Drummer expansion as that seemed to glue it all together. Apart from some Eq to fit the kick into the mix and some gated reverb and compression on the snare the kit is unprocessed. The bass is run into an 1176 emulation taking off 5-6 dBs of gain with a fast attack and release followed by some eq (boost at 110 Hz and a cut at 700 Hz) from a 1073 emulation