Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Jessica Childress: "Slow Down"
This is my first mix attempt, so go gentle!
I would love to hear what you guys think I could do to improve this mix, and my mixes in general, as I am still very amateur but serious about improving!
Cheers, Jimmy <3

.mp3    Slow Down Final mix.mp3 --  (Download: 7.54 MB)

Hey, i'm no pro but here is my two cents :

- I personally would like some panning separation because we have the drums, bass, lead vocals and guitar all in the middle.
I like for exemple the snare a little on side, same with high hats ... Guitar could be nice also on this one?
-Bass part at 2:24 gets a little loud. How much compression did you apply on bass ? Maybe you did a volume automation ?

Other than that I find your mix good, volume is nicely done. I'll let other people be more specific Wink
I agree... various techniques to make a centered mix sound wider. First and foremost, listen to the drum overheads, find the hihat, and pan the hihat track to about that location. Toms. Generally, high 60% right, mid center, low 60% left. What you can also do is use a short delay processor (~2ms) with a good cross feed on the guitar to let is sound wider. A good reverb processor, gently treated, will also tend to help that. I find delays are one of my best friends for helping to spread out a mix. Haas delays, 1/32, 1/8th, etc all help there without pushing the sound into the distance if treated carefully enough.