Thread Rating:
  • 2 Vote(s) - 4 Average
What I Want - Master 2
After a few remixes on speakers from Dell desktops to Barefoot MM27s, this is my latest offering. I've heard a lot of different speaker systems and I am totally convinced that Barefoot has broken new ground in the monitoring field. These speakers are the truth.

This mix was started on PreSonus Studio One 2 Pro and finished on the new Studio One 3. I am just beginning to tap the depths of Studio One and I am finding it the most intuitive DAW. I have had some contact with ProTools and find it to be counter-intuitive (meaning written for its own purposes instead of an extension of legacy audio production processes). I do not have any control surface other than my desktop interface yet. I would very much like to find out how Studio One behaves with a good controller. Any suggestions would be welcome.

Anyway, here is my offering of this great song.

PS: I wish there was more discretion with the keyboard tracks in the original recordings.

1/24/2016
What I Want.mp3:

This latest mix was done post integration of new Yamaha HS5 monitors. This represents a significant improvement in the quality of my mixes (I think...). I guess others will be the arbiter of that. this is a very thick mix based on the content of the song and I have done my best at taking a good musical approach to it. I hope you enjoy it and will leave your always valuable comments.

February 2017
The Brew - What I Want - Feb 2017.mp3:

I've been mastering in a new space with big speakers and this is a result. As always, comments are appreciated.

.mp3    The Brew - What I want-Master.mp3 --  (Download: 5.27 MB)

.mp3    The Brew - What I Want.mp3 --  (Download: 8.81 MB)

.mp3    The Brew - What I Want - Feb 2017.mp3 --  (Download: 8.8 MB)

PreSonus Studio One DAW
[email protected]
Sounds cool, just curious, what effect did you use on the backg vocals ?