Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Troubleshooting drums in particular - I'm Alright
Hey All,

I'm pretty new to doing a proper mix, and I've been having troubles with the drums in this song, particularly getting them to come forward and sit properly in the mix (also have this problem with drums to a lesser extent). I've tried a few things - this mix has very low compression (~-1DB GR) on the snare, going to a Drum bus (also sending pre-fader to a parallel compression bus, which I'm not using a lot of at the moment). EQ is up a few DB around 300HZ and 2KHZ. I just can't seem to get the volume and the right sense of space for the drums, and the snare particularly, to sit closer. And, of course, this affects the rest of the mix too because I can't build around the drums.

What am I doing wrong, and how can I go about fixing it? Even a step by step guide following what others have done mixing the drums would be helpful at this point, so I can at least see how it's supposed to word.

Thank you for any help!

.mp3    imalright8.mp3 --  (Download: 3.3 MB)

.mp3    nubbins_imalright_v2.mp3 --  (Download: 3.65 MB)

Check to see if the overheads and snare ,top and bottom are in phase !
I found this !

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C0at8xuPKfU

Cheers Big Grin

Please Help Mike Keep This Awesome Educational Site Alive And Become A patron !
https://www.patreon.com/CambridgeMT/posts

I don't think it's a phase issue, though I'm not 100% certain.

I've currently got the snare (there's only one snare mic) on reverse polarity to the other pieces of kit. I did actually gate some of the snare out of the OH as a possible solution, as well, so there's no longer so much bleed that it should make that much of a difference, I should think. Soloing the snare against the non drum tracks doesn't noticeably change the sound.